flags of the world

Republic of the Congo Flag

Click Republic of the Congo Flag Image to Download

Flag of Republic of the Congo

Flag of Republic of the Congo

The Congo Republic Flag comprises of a yellow slanting band divided slantways from the bottom hoist-side corner, with a green top triangle and red lower triangle.

The national Flag of Congo Republic was adopted in 1959 to substitute the French Tricolor; when the People's Republic of the Congo was established in 1970. The new government changed the flag to a red field with the coat of arms of the People's Republic in the region. This version was used until the regime collapsed in 1991. The new government punctually restored the original pre-1970 flag.

History of Republic of the Congo Flag

Under French foreign rule over Congo, the establishments banned the colony from using its own distinctive overseas flag. The French did not wish to ignite the nationalistic sentiment and lead to calls for freedom. However, with the growth of the decolonization undertaking in Africa, the French were grateful to grant limited independence to the Congo as a self-governing state within the French Community. This was decided on November 28, 1958, after a vote was held and nine months later, the Legislative Assembly instigated thinking over a national flag.

The new flag was formally accepted on September 15, 1959 and continued unchanged when the French Congo developed an independent state on August 15, 1960. It was hoisted on top of French high commission building to mark the proclamation of independence. In order to represent the revolutionary change, the regime introduced a new national anthem and selected a new flag. This featured a red field exciting with the country's new coat of arms, a gold star with an meeting hammer and hoe surrounded by a wreath—in the top-left canton. The design was inspired by that of the Soviet Union's flag.

Republic of the Congo Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

The colors of the flag transmit cultural, political, and regional meanings. The green represents the agriculture and forests of the Congo, while the yellow epitomizes the "friendship and nobility" of the Congolese people and red represents the Pan-Africanist movement. It is the only Pan-Africanist flag to use a slanting pattern in its design.

About Republic of the Congo

The Congo is positioned in west-central Africa across the equator. It shares borders Gabon, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Angola exclave of Cabinda, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and with a short stretch of coast on the South Atlantic with approximately 52.6 lacs inhabitants having population density of 13 people per square kilometer (33/sq mi).

Congo Republic has democratic republic. The official language of Congo Republic is French and Congo and the currency is Franc. Congo Republic comprises of two letters Congo Republic code i.e. CG and its three letters Congo Republic code is COG and in digits it is 178. The calling code is +242 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Congo Republic is UTC +01 hour.

Republic of the Congo Country Information Updated 2024

Country Republic of the Congo
Continent Africa
Official languages French
Capital Brazzaville
Currency Central African CFA franc Fr (XAF)

Other African Countries Countries

Algeria Algeria Flag
Angola Angola Flag
Benin Benin Flag
Botswana Botswana Flag
Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Flag
Burundi Burundi Flag
Cape Verde Cape Verde Flag
Cameroon Cameroon Flag
Central African Republic Central African Republic Flag
Chad Chad Flag
Comoros Comoros Flag
Democratic Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo Flag
Republic of the Congo Republic of the Congo Flag
Cote d'Ivoire Cote d'Ivoire Flag
Djibouti Djibouti Flag
Egypt Egypt Flag
Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea Flag
Eritrea Eritrea Flag
Swaziland - Eswatini Swaziland Flag - Eswatini Flag
Ethiopia Ethiopia Flag
Gabon Gabon Flag
Gambia Gambia Flag
Ghana Ghana Flag
Guinea Guinea Flag
Guinea-Bissau Ghana-Bissau Flag
Kenya Kenya Flag
Lesotho Lesotho Flag
Liberia Liberia Flag
Libya Libya Flag
Madagascar Madagascar Flag
Malawi Malawi Flag
Mali Mali Flag
Mauritania Mauritania Flag
Mauritius Mauritius Flag
Morocco Morocco Flag
Mozambique Mozambique Flag
Namibia Namibia Flag
Niger Niger Flag
Nigeria Nigeria Flag
Rwanda Rwanda Flag
Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome and Principe Flag
Senegal Senegal Flag
Seychelles Seychelles Flag
Sierra Leone Flag
Somalia Somalia Flag
South Africa South Africa Flag
South Sudan South Sudan Flag
Sudan Sudan Flag
Tanzania Tanzania Flag
Togo Togo Flag
Tunisia Tunisia Flag
Uganda Uganda Flag
Zambia Zambia Flag
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe Flag

Republic of the Congo Time Zones

CET UTC+01:00
CEST UTC+01:00

Republic of the Congo Codes

Internet TLD CG
Three-letter country code COG
Three-digit country code 178
Calling code +242