flags of the world

Sudan Flag

Click Sudan Flag Image to Download

Flag of Sudan

Flag of Sudan

On 20 May 1970, the ongoing flag of Sudan was approved by the republic constitution of the nation. Sudan flag consists of a flat red-white-black tricolor with a green triangle stripes at the hoist. The flag is formed on the Arab Liberation Flag shared by Syria, Yemen, Egypt, and Iraq. These countries use a division of the Pan-Arab colors, which is green.

The flag of Sudan features four colors. There is a horizontal tricolor of red, white and black beside with a green triangle designed on the hoist side of the flag of Sudan. As before mentioned, these colors embrace their own significance, signifying the religion of Islam, the people of the state, the struggles throughout history, and characters such as peace and prosperity.

History of Sudan Flag

In 1881, the first flag comprises of black color, which was mentioned in history used during the Mahdist War in Sudan. The black band in the current flag of today pays homage to this flag. At the end of the 19th century, Sudan was governed by the United Kingdom and Egypt. Therefore, the flag that hoisted on the land belong to the U.K. and Egypt together.

In 1956, Sudan achieved its freedom and adopted a national flag comprising a tricolor design of blue, yellow and green. This flag was in use until 1970, later; the design of the flag was modified and has made no change till date.

Sudan Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

Sudan’s flag has meaningful primarily in the colors designated. The colors red, white, black and green are known as “pan-Arab” colors. For years, these colors have been related to the people of Arab and the Islamic faith. However, there is supplementary meaning to the colors cast-off in the flag. The red band represents the struggle for freedom and the detriments of the nation’s martyrs. White signifies light, peace and optimism. The black is representative of the country itself, since “Sudan” in Arabic resources black. The green is a sign of Islam, wealth and agriculture.

About Sudan

Sudan is a republic state and it is bordered by the Red Sea to the northeast, Libya to the northwest, Eritrea to the east, Egypt to the north, South Sudan to the south, the Central African Republic to the southwest, Ethiopia to the southeast, and Chad to the west. It has a population of 39 million people, and population density is 24 per Km2 (62 people per mi2).

Being a republic state, the official language of Sudan is Arabic/English and the currency is Pound. Sudan comprises of two letters Sudan code i.e. SD and its three letters Sudan code is SDN and in digits it is 249. The calling code is +249 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Sudan is UTC +2 hours.

Sudan Country Information Updated 2024

Country Sudan
Continent Africa
Official languages Arabic and English
Capital Khartoum
Currency POUND (SDG)

Other African Countries Countries

Algeria Algeria Flag
Angola Angola Flag
Benin Benin Flag
Botswana Botswana Flag
Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Flag
Burundi Burundi Flag
Cape Verde Cape Verde Flag
Cameroon Cameroon Flag
Central African Republic Central African Republic Flag
Chad Chad Flag
Comoros Comoros Flag
Democratic Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo Flag
Republic of the Congo Republic of the Congo Flag
Cote d'Ivoire Cote d'Ivoire Flag
Djibouti Djibouti Flag
Egypt Egypt Flag
Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea Flag
Eritrea Eritrea Flag
Swaziland - Eswatini Swaziland Flag - Eswatini Flag
Ethiopia Ethiopia Flag
Gabon Gabon Flag
Gambia Gambia Flag
Ghana Ghana Flag
Guinea Guinea Flag
Guinea-Bissau Guinea-Bissau Flag
Kenya Kenya Flag
Lesotho Lesotho Flag
Liberia Liberia Flag
Libya Libya Flag
Madagascar Madagascar Flag
Malawi Malawi Flag
Mali Mali Flag
Mauritania Mauritania Flag
Mauritius Mauritius Flag
Morocco Morocco Flag
Mozambique Mozambique Flag
Namibia Namibia Flag
Niger Niger Flag
Nigeria Nigeria Flag
Rwanda Rwanda Flag
Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome and Principe Flag
Senegal Senegal Flag
Seychelles Seychelles Flag
Sierra Leone Sierra Leone Flag
Somalia Somalia Flag
South Africa South Africa Flag
South Sudan South Sudan Flag
Sudan Sudan Flag
Tanzania Tanzania Flag
Togo Togo Flag
Tunisia Tunisia Flag
Uganda Uganda Flag
Zambia Zambia Flag
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe Flag

Sudan Time Zones

CAT UTC+02:00
CEST UTC+02:00

Sudan Codes

Internet TLD SD
Three-letter country code SDN
Three-digit country code 249
Calling code +249