flags of the world

Cameroon Flag

Click Cameroon Flag Image to Download

Click Cameroon Flag Image to Download

Flag of Cameroon

Flag of Cameroon

After Cameroon becomes unitary state on 20 May 1975, Cameroon Flag was adopted in its present form by the nation. It is a perpendicular tricolor of green, red and yellow, with a five-pointed star in its center. There is an extensive difference in the size of the dominant star, although it is always located within the inside stripe. The color scheme uses the outdated Pan-African colors. The center band is thought to stand for harmony: red is the color of unity, and the star is mentioned to as "the star of unity". The yellow view for the sun and green is for the forests in the southern part of Cameroon.

During 1961 to 1975, Cameroon previous flag has similar color scheme. However, the previous flag also featured two gold stars in the top half of the green. Flag of Cameroon was accepted after British Southern Cameroons. On 21 February 1960, the original flag was confirmed in the constitution made law by Law No. 46 of 26 October 1957.

History of Cameroon Flag

Before the present flag design was accepted, Cameroon’s preceding flag designs were very alike. The flag of French Cameroon, first used in 1957 contained the tricolor of green, red and yellow perpendicular stripes. After that, the flag of the Federal Republic of Cameroon also comprised of tricolor design with two yellow stars in the canton. The respective flag was in use till 1975. Then, it was on May 20, 1975 when the current design was accepted.

In the mid-20th century Cameroon was fundamentally a trust land under France oversaw by the United Nations. After it was assured freedom, local government initiated discussing a likely national flag in 1957. One popular sign recommended for the flag was the prawn that had assumed the country its name. However, the members of the legislature favored a simple flag of three identical vertical bands, a design stimulated by the French Tricolor. The effect of the African Democratic Rally, the leading local political force in French West Africa was touched when colors were selected. Its party colors represented the fight of Africans for self-government succeeding World War II. Cameroon therefore obvious to use green-red-yellow on its flag, which was first formally rose on October 29, 1957.

Cameroon Flag Meaning and Design

The center band is thought to stand for unity: red signifies the sacrifice of their brave people for independence, and the star is meant to as "the star of unity". The yellow stands for the sun and Savannas, and green are for the forests in the southern part of Cameroon. The flag of Cameroon uses the outmoded Pan-African colors like many other nations. It is believed that these colors are destined to symbolize unity, the Sun, Savannahs, and lush green forests of the country.

Cameroon Country Information, Currency, Codes, Time Zone

Cameroon is bordered by Chad to the northeast; Nigeria to the west and north; Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, the Cameroon to the east; and the Republic of the Congo to the south. Cameroon's coastline lies on the Bight of Biafra, which is a part of the Atlantic Ocean and Gulf of Guinea. The population of Cameroon stands 2.41 crores with the population density 50.9 people per sq. km. Cameroon has a decentralized unitary state. Cameroon is ruled by an authoritarian regime.

The official language of Cameroon is French and English and the currency is Franc. Cameroon comprises of two letters Cameroon code i.e. CM and its three letters Cameroon code is CMR and in digits it is 120. The calling code is +237 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Cameroon is UTC +01 hour. Being a decentralized republic, the President of the Republic of Cameroon in 2008 signed decrees abolishing "provinces" and replacing them with "regions". The nation has 10 regions and they are known as Adamawa, Central Cameroon, East Cameroon, Far North Cameroon, Littoral Cameroon, North Cameroon, Northwest Cameroon, South Cameroon, Southwest Cameroon, and West Cameroon.

Cameroon Country Information Updated 2024

Country Cameroon
Continent Africa
Official languages French, English
Capital Yaoundé
Currency Central African CFA franc Fr (XAF)

Cameroon Time Zones

CET UTC+01:00
CEST UTC+01:00

Cameroon Codes

Internet TLD CM
Three-letter country code CMR
Three-digit country code 120
Calling code +237

Other African Countries Countries

Algeria Algeria Flag
Angola Angola Flag
Benin Benin Flag
Botswana Botswana Flag
Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Flag
Burundi Burundi Flag
Cape Verde Cape Verde Flag
Cameroon Cameroon Flag
Central African Republic Central African Republic Flag
Chad Chad Flag
Comoros Comoros Flag
Democratic Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo Flag
Republic of the Congo Republic of the Congo Flag
Cote d'Ivoire Cote d'Ivoire Flag
Djibouti Djibouti Flag
Egypt Egypt Flag
Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea Flag
Eritrea Eritrea Flag
Swaziland - Eswatini Swaziland Flag - Eswatini Flag
Ethiopia Ethiopia Flag
Gabon Gabon Flag
Gambia Gambia Flag
Ghana Ghana Flag
Guinea Guinea Flag
Guinea-Bissau Ghana-Bissau Flag
Kenya Kenya Flag
Lesotho Lesotho Flag
Liberia Liberia Flag
Libya Libya Flag
Madagascar Madagascar Flag
Malawi Malawi Flag
Mali Mali Flag
Mauritania Mauritania Flag
Mauritius Mauritius Flag
Morocco Morocco Flag
Mozambique Mozambique Flag
Namibia Namibia Flag
Niger Niger Flag
Nigeria Nigeria Flag
Rwanda Rwanda Flag
Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome and Principe Flag
Senegal Senegal Flag
Seychelles Seychelles Flag
Sierra Leone Flag
Somalia Somalia Flag
South Africa South Africa Flag
South Sudan South Sudan Flag
Sudan Sudan Flag
Tanzania Tanzania Flag
Togo Togo Flag
Tunisia Tunisia Flag
Uganda Uganda Flag
Zambia Zambia Flag
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe Flag