flags of the world

Botswana Flag

Click Botswana Flag Image to Download

Flag of Botswana

Flag of Botswana

The national flag of Botswana features a light blue field cut horizontally in the midpoint by a black stripe with a thin white border. Accepted in 1966 to substitute the Union Jack, Botswana Flag has been the flag of the Republic of Botswana meanwhile the country increased independence that year. It is one of the few African flags came up with its own design and framework.

Botswana's national flag landscapes light blue, black, and white horizontal bands of fluctuating thicknesses. Thick light blue bands are delimited at the top and bottom of the flag, trailed by thin white bands, and a black bank in the midpoint. Botswana expanded independence from the UK in 1966, and approved the new flag as a replacement for the Union Jack that had been imposed in order to demonstrate British colonial rule. Botswana is among a limited number of countries that did not comprise red, green, and yellow on its flag.

History of Botswana Flag

Botswana, which was known earlier as Bechuanaland gained freedom from Britain in 1966. Before the independence, Botswana did have its own colonial flag. The national flag of Botswana was created on 30 September 1966.

As mentioned, the nation Bechuanaland, which is Botswana now, was ruled by United Kingdom. During that period, the nation adopted the flag of the United Kingdom serving as the de facto flag of the protectorate. However, after the independence, the current flag was approved by the government. It was emblematically designed to contrast with the flag of South Africa. The black stripe with the white frame derived to epitomize the peace and accord between the people of African and European descent.

Botswana Flag Meaning and Design

The colors of the flag transmit cultural, political, and regional meanings. The light blue signifies water, as it is a valuable resource in Botswana. Also, it relies on agriculture and grieves from frequent droughts due to the dry and arid climate. The blue also refers to the motto contained on the coat of arms of Botswana.

The black band with the white edge has two meanings; first, harmony and second, cooperation between the people of different races in Botswana. Also, they signify the stripes of the zebra, the national animal of Botswana. Botswana's national flag features significant symbolism. The flag represents the peace and concurrence between the blacks and whites residing in Botswana. Every color embedded in the flag has social, administrative and local significance. The coat of arms in the flag depicts the meaning "Let there be rain.”

Botswana Country Information, Currency, Codes, Time Zone

The country, Botswana is situated in African continent. It is a landlocked country located in the south-west part of the continent. Botswana shares boundaries with four countries - South Africa to the south, Namibia to the west, Zimbabwe to the east, and north shares a tiny section of its border with Zambia in the northeast. The nation has 22.9 lakhs of population which marks population density (people per sq. km) at 3.9706 sq. Km. Botswana has Parliamentary Republic with parliamentary representative democracy with the capital city being Gaborone.

The official language of Botswana is English and Tswana and the currency is Botswana Pula. Botswana comprises of two letters Botswana code i.e. AL and its three letters Botswana code is ALB and in digits it is 072. The calling code is +267 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Botswana is UTC +2 hours. Being a parliamentary republic, Botswana comprises a total of four independent provinces. These include: Central District, Kgatleng District, Kweneng District, and South-East District.

Botswana Country Information Updated 2024

Country Botswana
Continent Africa
Official languages English, Setswana
Capital Gaborone
Currency Botswana pula P (BWP)

Botswana Time Zones

CET UTC+02:00
CEST UTC+02:00

Botswana Codes

Internet TLD BW
Three-letter country code BWA
Three-digit country code 072
Calling code +267

Other African Countries Countries

Algeria Algeria Flag
Angola Angola Flag
Benin Benin Flag
Botswana Botswana Flag
Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Flag
Burundi Burundi Flag
Cape Verde Cape Verde Flag
Cameroon Cameroon Flag
Central African Republic Central African Republic Flag
Chad Chad Flag
Comoros Comoros Flag
Democratic Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo Flag
Republic of the Congo Republic of the Congo Flag
Cote d'Ivoire Cote d'Ivoire Flag
Djibouti Djibouti Flag
Egypt Egypt Flag
Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea Flag
Eritrea Eritrea Flag
Swaziland - Eswatini Swaziland Flag - Eswatini Flag
Ethiopia Ethiopia Flag
Gabon Gabon Flag
Gambia Gambia Flag
Ghana Ghana Flag
Guinea Guinea Flag
Guinea-Bissau Ghana-Bissau Flag
Kenya Kenya Flag
Lesotho Lesotho Flag
Liberia Liberia Flag
Libya Libya Flag
Madagascar Madagascar Flag
Malawi Malawi Flag
Mali Mali Flag
Mauritania Mauritania Flag
Mauritius Mauritius Flag
Morocco Morocco Flag
Mozambique Mozambique Flag
Namibia Namibia Flag
Niger Niger Flag
Nigeria Nigeria Flag
Rwanda Rwanda Flag
Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome and Principe Flag
Senegal Senegal Flag
Seychelles Seychelles Flag
Sierra Leone Flag
Somalia Somalia Flag
South Africa South Africa Flag
South Sudan South Sudan Flag
Sudan Sudan Flag
Tanzania Tanzania Flag
Togo Togo Flag
Tunisia Tunisia Flag
Uganda Uganda Flag
Zambia Zambia Flag
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe Flag