flags of the world

Guinea Flag

Click Guinea Flag Image to Download

Flag of Guinea

Flag of Guinea

The Guinea flag was formally approved on November 10, 1958. Guinea Flag features the Pan-African colors of red, yellow and green. Red represents the struggle for independence, yellow characterizes the sun and the riches of the land, while green is depicts the country's vegetation.

The colors of the flag were modified at the dominant movement during the time of independence. Flag of Guinea has colors were in turn derived from flag of Ghana. The previous design was initially adopted in 1957.

History of Guinea Flag

On 1958, the flag was adopted and the colors known as Pan-African colors – were first used by Ghana in its flag in 1957. This flag is closely indistinguishable to the flag of Rwanda used from 1961 through 2001.

Guinea Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

Red represents the blood of the martyrs who perished from slavery and wars, yellow characterizes the sun and the riches of the country, and green the country's flora. To match the friendly association, the colors like red, yellow, and green were used for Pan-African movement. The flag of Guinea is a tricolor flag also resembles flag of Mali if viewed from left to right in opposite direction. The preceding flag of Rwanda, whose design was enthused by the flag of the Kingdom of Rwanda, had a big black R to make it different from the near-identical flag of Guinea.

About Guinea

It is located in West Africa. Guinea shares a border with Mali on the northeast, Senegal on the north, Liberia and Sierra Leone to the south and Ivory Coast to the east. The country has over 12.4 million populations. The population density is 41 people per square kilometer (106/sq mi).

Guinea is a republic nation where president is the head of the administration. The official language of Guinea is French and the currency is Franc. Guinea comprises of two letters Guinea code i.e. GN and its three letters Guinea code is GIN and in digits it is 224. The calling code is +224 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Guinea is UTC +00 hours.

Being a republic, Guinea comprises a total of eight administrative regions and thirty four subdivided prefectures.

Guinea Country Information Updated 2024

Country Guinea
Continent Africa
Official languages French
Capital Conakry
Currency Guinean franc Fr (GNF)

Other African Countries Countries

Algeria Algeria Flag
Angola Angola Flag
Benin Benin Flag
Botswana Botswana Flag
Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Flag
Burundi Burundi Flag
Cape Verde Cape Verde Flag
Cameroon Cameroon Flag
Central African Republic Central African Republic Flag
Chad Chad Flag
Comoros Comoros Flag
Democratic Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo Flag
Republic of the Congo Republic of the Congo Flag
Cote d'Ivoire Cote d'Ivoire Flag
Djibouti Djibouti Flag
Egypt Egypt Flag
Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea Flag
Eritrea Eritrea Flag
Swaziland - Eswatini Swaziland Flag - Eswatini Flag
Ethiopia Ethiopia Flag
Gabon Gabon Flag
Gambia Gambia Flag
Ghana Ghana Flag
Guinea Guinea Flag
Guinea-Bissau Guinea-Bissau Flag
Kenya Kenya Flag
Lesotho Lesotho Flag
Liberia Liberia Flag
Libya Libya Flag
Madagascar Madagascar Flag
Malawi Malawi Flag
Mali Mali Flag
Mauritania Mauritania Flag
Mauritius Mauritius Flag
Morocco Morocco Flag
Mozambique Mozambique Flag
Namibia Namibia Flag
Niger Niger Flag
Nigeria Nigeria Flag
Rwanda Rwanda Flag
Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome and Principe Flag
Senegal Senegal Flag
Seychelles Seychelles Flag
Sierra Leone Flag
Somalia Somalia Flag
South Africa South Africa Flag
South Sudan South Sudan Flag
Sudan Sudan Flag
Tanzania Tanzania Flag
Togo Togo Flag
Tunisia Tunisia Flag
Uganda Uganda Flag
Zambia Zambia Flag
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe Flag

Guinea Time Zones

CET UTC+00:00
CEST UTC+00:00

Guinea Codes

Internet TLD GN
Three-letter country code GIN
Three-digit country code 324
Calling code +224