flags of the world

Flags of South American Countries

Flags Of South America

The 12 independent countries within this continent have their own national flags. Thus, when talk of Flags of South America, it is inclusive of the national flags of all the 12 sovereign South American states. South American region does not have many independent countries within i.e. the continent has only 12 independent countries and thus the national flags of these countries are not widely popular across the world. Except the green and golden rectangle design flag of Brazil and the Flag of Guyana with golden Arrow design all the flags of South American states are striped in varied color combinations. The most widely recognized symbols of South American countries constitute of the flags of Argentina and Brazil.

Historical Evolution of Flags of South America

Majority of the national flags of South America derivations that showcase the historic significance. When the South American Nations were the part of the European colonial empire and particularly Spain, then several South American Nations just began their vexillogical traditions. Post independence the nations of South America adopted their new flags and all those countries that gained independence at the same time were seen adopting the flags of similar designs that makes it easier to narrate the nation’s history simply by looking at the South American Flags. Prior to the colonial era, few country flags of South America incorporated within them, the native cultures of that specific region. One such example is the Flag of Bolivia.

South American Flags and The Spanish Revolution

During the colonial period the Spanish Empire dominated South America however, a wave of revolutions began and the colonies gained independence during the 18th century. This revolutionary wave encouraged the adoption of many new flags. Some of these flags are in use however, most of the modern South American flags have their designs inspired from the flags of revolutionary period.Most of the South American Flags are composed of three stripes which is an influence of the imagery of the French revolution. The flags of Uruguay and the flags of Chile are the notable exceptions of this trend. Stars usually indicate the individual states or provinces lying within a nation, this takes inspiration from the flag of USA. Most of the South American flags resembled each other due to the shared influences along with the combination of tendency of South American nations to influence each other.

Outside The Spanish Empire

Though during the 19th century the Spanish Empire controlled the majority of the regions of South America, it wasn’t the only Empire that held territory within the continent. Several nations of South America can find their flag designs relative to the history i.e. their empires and thus their flags are unique. South American countries like Suriname, Brazil and Guyana have flags that seem to break off the common triband pattern found in the flags of South America and all of these have been adopted from the other European Empires.


The Flags of South America are symbol or emblem of the South American countries that represents each country’s vision and strength. Each Flag of South America has its own distinctive combination of shapes, symbols and colors but by convention almost every Flag of South America is rectangular in shape. Flags of South America comprise of the flags of all 12 sovereign nations of South America with some exceptions.