flags of the world

Zimbabwe Flag

Click Zimbabwe Flag Image to Download

Flag of Zimbabwe

Flag of Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe’s flag landscapes 5 diverse colors. There is a white triangle situated on the winch side. Inside of the triangle, there is a red star having a yellow bird emblem. In Zimbabwe Flag there are 7 flat bands of green, yellow, red and black. The color white represents peace. In Flag of Zimbabwe, the color yellow characterizes the nation’s mineral wealth; the color red is emblematic of the nation’s carnage in its fight for freedom. The color black is illustrative of the nation’s race, society and heritage. The color green signifies the nation’s farming.

History of Zimbabwe Flag

One of the unique flags of the state that is now Zimbabwe was the flag of the British South Africa Corporation, which contained the Union Jack with an insignia located in the center. This flag was hoisted from 1890 through 1923. The country that is now Zimbabwe was once recognized as Southern Rhodesia and during that time, a nationwide flag was approved.

This flag was hoisted from 1923 through 1964. Later, two diverse flags were hoisted as the national flag of Rhodesia. The first contained a union jack and a symbol on a blue field. In 1968, this design was transformed to a vertical triband design. The flag of Zimbabwe Rhodesia was applied in 1979 and was put out of practice in the same year. Once the nation grew its freedom from the United Kingdom, the flag that is presently in use today was officially approved on April 18, 1980.

Zimbabwean Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

There is a red star symbolizing the aspirations of the nations; the colors of the bands depict cultural, regional and political significance. Other colors in the flag comprise agriculture of the land, the mineral wealth of the nation, and ethnicity of the Zimbabwean people.

About Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe is a landlocked nation situated in Southern Africa. The country is surrounded by Botswana to the southwest, Zambia to the northwest, South Africa to the south and Mozambique to the east. The population of the nation is 16.5 million. The population density of Zimbabwe is 33 persons per square kilometer.

The country has unitary presidential republic. The official language of Zimbabwe is English and the currency is Dollar. Zimbabwe comprises of two letters Zimbabwe code i.e. ZW and its three letters Zimbabwe code is ZWE and in digits it is 716. The calling code is +263 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Zimbabwe is UTC +2 hours.

Being a presidential republic, Zimbabwe comprises of a total of 10 provinces.

Zimbabwe Country Information Updated 2024

Country Zimbabwe
Continent Africa
Official languages Chewa, Chibarwe, English, Kalanga, "Koisan" (presumably Tsoa), Nambya, Ndau, Ndebele, Shangani, Shona, "sign language" (Zimbabwean sign languages), Sotho, Tonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa
Capital Harare
Currency Botswana pula P (BWP), British pound £ (GBP), Euro € (EUR), Indian rupee ₹ (INR), South African rand R (ZAR), United States dollar $ (USD), (Zimbabwean Bond)

Other African Countries Countries

Algeria Algeria Flag
Angola Angola Flag
Benin Benin Flag
Botswana Botswana Flag
Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Flag
Burundi Burundi Flag
Cape Verde Cape Verde Flag
Cameroon Cameroon Flag
Central African Republic Central African Republic Flag
Chad Chad Flag
Comoros Comoros Flag
Democratic Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo Flag
Republic of the Congo Republic of the Congo Flag
Cote d'Ivoire Cote d'Ivoire Flag
Djibouti Djibouti Flag
Egypt Egypt Flag
Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea Flag
Eritrea Eritrea Flag
Swaziland - Eswatini Swaziland Flag - Eswatini Flag
Ethiopia Ethiopia Flag
Gabon Gabon Flag
Gambia Gambia Flag
Ghana Ghana Flag
Guinea Guinea Flag
Guinea-Bissau Guinea-Bissau Flag
Kenya Kenya Flag
Lesotho Lesotho Flag
Liberia Liberia Flag
Libya Libya Flag
Madagascar Madagascar Flag
Malawi Malawi Flag
Mali Mali Flag
Mauritania Mauritania Flag
Mauritius Mauritius Flag
Morocco Morocco Flag
Mozambique Mozambique Flag
Namibia Namibia Flag
Niger Niger Flag
Nigeria Nigeria Flag
Rwanda Rwanda Flag
Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome and Principe Flag
Senegal Senegal Flag
Seychelles Seychelles Flag
Sierra Leone Sierra Leone Flag
Somalia Somalia Flag
South Africa South Africa Flag
South Sudan South Sudan Flag
Sudan Sudan Flag
Tanzania Tanzania Flag
Togo Togo Flag
Tunisia Tunisia Flag
Uganda Uganda Flag
Zambia Zambia Flag
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe Flag

Zimbabwe Time Zones

CET UTC+02:00
CEST UTC+02:00

Zimbabwe Codes

Internet TLD ZW
Three-letter country code ZWE
Three-digit country code 716
Calling code +263