flags of the world

Cyprus Flag

Click Cyprus Flag Image to Download

flag of Cyprus

Flag of Cyprus

The flag of Cyprus comprises of a yellow outline of the island and two traversed branches on a white background. Cyprus flag has yellow color induces copper resources on the island, which are imitated even in the name “Cyprus” itself since it is resulting from a Greek word for copper.

The national flag of Cyprus originated into use on 16 August 1960, under the Zurich and London Agreements, whereby a constitution was recruited and Cyprus was announced an independent state. The Flag of Cyprus was designed by art teacher.

History of Cyprus Flag

The flag of the Republic of Cyprus was headed by the flag of British Cyprus. Upon freedom, Cyprus approved a new flag. Under the constitution, the flag was require having designed with different colors except blue or red and should not depict a cross or a crescent. The design was selected by Makarios III, the first President of the Republic. Despite the effort at a neutral design to endorse unity amongst the constituent societies, this flag was used by Greek Cypriots as it associated the Turkish Cypriots.

In the design of August 1960, the flag had both the crest and the two olive-tree leaves in olive green. The contextual is white with the 3:5 ratio. In April 2006 the design was modified, the shape of the olive branches were somewhat altered, its color was altered. The copper color of the map was changed to 3:2. Flags shaped on Cyprus often vary from the novel specifications, both concerning the size of the map and the colors used. The government proclaimed in October 2005, that it would revenue steps to assure that flag complying official and constitutional requirements.

Cyprus Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

The flag of Cyprus is white, with the form of the island in copper-orange crosswise the center and two green traversed olive branches below it. The white color of the flag represents peace and purity, while the green traversed olive branches signify peace and settlement between the two communities like Greek Cypriots and Turkish Cypriots. Meanwhile, the copper-orange map of the island denotes Cyprus and its large credits of copper ore.

About Cyprus

Cyprus is a is an island country in the Eastern Mediterranean situated west of Syria and Lebanon, south of Turkey, north of Egypt, southeast of Greece, and northwest of Israel. The Republic Island accommodate 8.55 inhabitants measuring the population density of people per sq. km of land area is 126.64.

Cyprus is a presidential republic country. The official language of Cyprus is Turkish and Greek and the currency is Euro. Cyprus comprises of two letters Cyprus code i.e. CY and its three letters Cyprus code is CYP and in digits it is 196. The calling code is +357 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Cyprus is UTC +3 hours.

Being a republic country has six districts known as Nicosia, Famagusta, Kyrenia, Larnaca, Limassol and Paphos.

Cyprus Country Information Updated 2024

Country Cyprus
Continent Asia
Official languages Greek, Turkish
Capital Nikosia
Currency Euro € (EUR)

Other Asia Countries Countries

Afghanistan Afghanistan Flag
Armenia Armenia Flag
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan Flag
Bahrain Bahrain Flag
Bangladesh Bangladesh Flag
Bhutan Bhutan Flag
Brunei Brunei Flag
Cambodia Cambodia Flag
China China Flag
Cyprus Cyprus Flag
Georgia Georgia Flag
India India Flag
Indonesia Indonesia Flag
Iran Iran Flag
Iraq Iraq Flag
Israel Israel Flag
Japan Japan Flag
Jordan Jordan Flag
Kazakhstan Kazakhstan Flag
Kuwait Kuwait Flag
Kyrgyzstan Kyrgyzstan Flag
Laos Laos Flag
Lebanon Lebanon Flag
Malaysia Malaysia Flag
Maldives Maldives Flag
Mongolia Mongolia Flag
Myanmar Myanmar Flag
Nepal Nepal Flag
North Korea North Korea Flag
Oman Oman Flag
Pakistan Pakistan Flag
Palestine Palestine Flag
Philippines Philippines Flag
Qatar Qatar Flag
Russia Russia Flag
Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia Flag
Singapore Singapore Flag
South Korea South Korea Flag
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Flag
Syria Syria Flag
Taiwan Taiwan Flag
Tajikistan Tajikistan Flag
Thailand Thailand Flag
Timor-Leste Timor-Leste Flag
Turkey Turkey Flag
Turkmenistan Turkmenistan Flag
United Arab Emirates UAE Flag
Uzbekistan Uzbekistan Flag
Vietnam Vietnam Flag
Yemen Yemen Flag

Cyprus Time Zones

CET UTC+02:00
CEST UTC+03:00

Cyprus Codes

Internet TLD CY
Three-letter country code CYP
Three-digit country code 196
Calling code +357