flags of the world

Singapore Flag

Click Singapore Flag Image to Download

flag of Singapore

Flag of Singapore

The Flag of Singapore comprises of two flat halves, red above white. Singapore Flag has red represents universal group and parity of man; white attitudes for pervading and eternal purity and virtue. In the top left corner, a white semicircular moon and five white stars form a ring. The five stars signify for the ideals of democracy, concord, progress, justice and equality.

On 3 December 1959, the National Flag was raised when Singapore was granted self-rule by the British Government. Also revealed that day were the State Crest and the National Anthem. The Flag of Singapore was considered and created by a committee headed by then Deputy Prime Minister.

History of Singapore Flag

Singapore was ruled by British government in the 19th century. The flag was used to signify the Settlements covering three gold crowns. After Britain, the land was captured by Japanese. After the Second World War, Singapore became an independent Crown colony and accepted its own flag. The flag was modified from the Straits Settlements flag to decrease the number of crowns from three to one.

Singapore Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

The Singapore Flag red represents universal brotherhood and parity of man, and white, represents permeating and everlasting purity and virtue. The waxing semicircular moon depicts a young nation on the dominant. The five stars represent the nation's ideals of democracy, peace, progress, justice and equality. Also, the star and crescent sign are recognized as a symbol of Islam. However, Singapore and Nepal are the only non-Muslim states to have a semicircular moon in their national flags.

About Singapore

Singapore shares maritime boundary with Malaysia. The island country is located in South East Asia. The population of the nation is 5.6 million. The population density of the nation is 8383 per Km2 (21,712 people per mi2).

Singapore has democratic republic government. The official language of Singapore is Mandarin, English, Malay, Hokkien, and Tamil. The country uses Dollar as their currency. Singapore comprises of two letters Singapore code i.e. SG and its three letters Singapore code is SGP and in digits it is 702. The calling code is +65 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Singapore is UTC +8 hours.

Being a democratic republic, Singapore comprises a total of 5 regions.

Singapore Country Information Updated 2024

Country Singapore
Continent Asia
Official languages Malay, English, Mandarin, Tamil
Capital Singapore
Currency Brunei dollar $ (BND), Singapore dollar $ (SGD)

Other Asia Countries Countries

Afghanistan Afghanistan Flag
Armenia Armenia Flag
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan Flag
Bahrain Bahrain Flag
Bangladesh Bangladesh Flag
Bhutan Bhutan Flag
Brunei Brunei Flag
Cambodia Cambodia Flag
China China Flag
Cyprus Cyprus Flag
Georgia Georgia Flag
India India Flag
Indonesia Indonesia Flag
Iran Iran Flag
Iraq Iraq Flag
Israel Israel Flag
Japan Japan Flag
Jordan Jordan Flag
Kazakhstan Kazakhstan Flag
Kuwait Kuwait Flag
Kyrgyzstan Kyrgyzstan Flag
Laos Laos Flag
Lebanon Lebanon Flag
Malaysia Malaysia Flag
Maldives Maldives Flag
Mongolia Mongolia Flag
Myanmar Myanmar Flag
Nepal Nepal Flag
North Korea North Korea Flag
Oman Oman Flag
Pakistan Pakistan Flag
Palestine Palestine Flag
Philippines Philippines Flag
Qatar Qatar Flag
Russia Russia Flag
Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia Flag
Singapore Singapore Flag
South Korea South Korea Flag
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Flag
Syria Syria Flag
Taiwan Taiwan Flag
Tajikistan Tajikistan Flag
Thailand Thailand Flag
Timor-Leste Timor-Leste Flag
Turkey Turkey Flag
Turkmenistan Turkmenistan Flag
United Arab Emirates UAE Flag
Uzbekistan Uzbekistan Flag
Vietnam Vietnam Flag
Yemen Yemen Flag

Singapore Time Zones

CET UTC+08:00
CEST UTC+08:00

Singapore Codes

Internet TLD SG
Three-letter country code SGP
Three-digit country code 702
Calling code +65