flags of the world

Peru Flag

Click Peru Flag Image to Download

flag of Peru

Flag of Peru

On 1824, the flag of Peru was accepted by the government; however, the flag was modified in 1950. As per the article 49 of the Constitution of Peru, Peru Flag is a vertical triband with red outer stripes and a single white middle band. Contingent on its usage, it may be defaced with dissimilar emblems, and has diverse names. Flag Day in Peru is famous on 7 June, the birthday of the Battle of Arica.

Peru’s national flag topographies a perpendicular triband of two colors: red and white. The Flag of Peru bands on the outdoor of the flag are red, while the middle band is white. The nationwide coat of arms is focused on the white band and landscapes colors with green, blue, and gold. The colors of the flag are intended to signify the Incas and how they prejudiced the country of Peru. There is also another modified flag that is applied in the country that does not feature the coat of arms.

History of Peru Flag

Previous to having its own flag, the country flew the colonial-era Spanish flag. However, in 1820, the initially flag to signify Peru was raised by Admiral William Miller. This flag was labeled as navy blue and contained a golden sun. In 1820, the first flag of the State of Peru was intended and decreed. This flag was red and white with a laurel crown in the center. Within the crown was a sun increasing over the mountains and the sea. The flag was reshaped three times in 1822. The flag was changed several more times before taking on the present design used today. In 1950, the civil flag was adapted to eliminate the coat of arms because it was calmer to make.

Peru Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

The colors of the Peruvian flag are representative and symbolize the persons and their influence on Peru. The colors were selected by The Liberator, Jose de San Martin. The coat of arms landscapes significant symbols of the state with prosperity.

About Peru

Lying in in the western and central part of South America, Peru is bordered by Brazil and Bolivia to the east, Chile to the south; Ecuador and Colombia to the north covering an area of 496,224 square miles. The population of Peru is 30.2 million and the population density is 25 people per square kilometer (or 57/square mile).

Peru has a unitary state and a semi-presidential representative democratic republic with a multi-party system. The official language of Peru is Spanish and the currency is Sol. Peru comprises of two letters Peru code i.e. PE and its three letters Peru code is PER and in digits it is 604 . The calling code is +51 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Peru is UTC -5 hours.

Being a federal republic, Peru comprises a total of 24 departments and regions instead of provinces and states.

Peru Country Information Updated 2024

Country Peru
Continent South America
Official languages Spanish, Quechua, Aymara
Capital Lima
Peru Flag Colors Red and White
Currency Peruvian nuevo sol S/. (PEN)

Other South American Countries

Argentina Argentina Flag
Bolivia Bolivia Flag
Brazil Brazil Flag
Chile Chile Flag
Colombia Colombia Flag
Ecuador Ecuador Flag
Guyana Guyana Flag
Paraguay Paraguay Flag
Peru Peru Flag
Suriname Suriname Flag
Uruguay Uruguay Flag
Venezuela Venezuela Flag
Falkland Islands Falkland Islands Flag
French Guiana French Guiana Flag

Peru Time Zones

CET UTC-05:00
CEST UTC-05:00

Peru Codes

Internet TLD PE
Three-letter country code PER
Three-digit country code 604
Calling code +51