flags of the world

New Zealand Flag

Click New Zealand Flag Image to Download

New Zealand

Flag of New Zealand

New Zealand accepted its national flag on March 24, 1902. Albert Hastings Markham, the Royal Navy’s First Lieutenant had designed the New Zealand flag in 1869. Though, the flags were being hoisted in several places during the time but, the official acceptance came after King Edward VII approved the New Zealand flag and Code Signals Bill in March 1902.

The flag of New Zealand has a defaced blue field with the Union Jack in the canton. It has four red stars with white borders to the right. The stars' design signifies the asterism within the constellation of Crux, the Southern Cross. There were referendums held in 2015 and 2016 to reconsider a modification in flag of New Zealand, however, the discussion never reached to any conclusion.

History of New Zealand Flag

James Busby, a British local, summoned a meeting of Maori chiefs to vote for New Zealand’s initial flag at Waitangi. The United Tribes of New Zealand disallowed two of three flags designed and future by Henry Williams. On March 1834, the association voted and approved a flag with two crosses of St. George, one in a blue contextual canton bearing four eight-pointed stars. This flag design developed the Flag of the United Tribes of New Zealand, with its use finish in 1840. From 1840 up to 1867, the country accepted the British Union Flag, after ratification the Treaty of Waitangi. The Colonial Navy Defense Act 1865 led to an outline of a New Zealand flag in 1867 built on the British Blue Ensign manner the initials “NZ” in the fly, with its usage up to 1869. Use of the present flag initiated in 1869, but certified implementation occurred in 1902.

New Zealand Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

The flag’s quantity is 1:2, with three colors: red, blue, and white. The 1902 flag was considered as the representation for the people of New Zealand, its Monarchy, and the Government. The Union Jack at the region signifies the close relationship between New Zealand and the UK. The Southern Cross shows the South Pacific Ocean scene of the nation. The color blue signifies the sky and the sea.

About New Zealand

New Zealand is located in the south-western Pacific Ocean. It consists of estimated around 600, mainly offcuts islands now beneath the sea. The country has population over 4.9 millions and population density of 5 people per square kilometer.

Being a constitutional monarchy, parliamentary system, and unitary state, the official language of New Zealand is English and the currency is Dollar. New Zealand comprises of two letters New Zealand code i.e. NZ and its three letters New Zealand code is NZL and in digits it is 554. The calling code is +64 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in New Zealand is UTC +12 hours.

New Zealand is divided into sixteen regions; there are no provinces or states.

New Zealand Country Information Updated 2024

Country New Zealand
Continent Oceania
Official languages English, Māori, NZ Sign Language
Capital Wellington
Currency New Zealand dollar $ (NZD)

Other Oceania Countries

Australia Australia Flag
Fiji Fiji Flag
Kiribati Kiribati Flag
Marshall Islands Marshall Islands Flag
Micronesia Micronesia Flag
Nauru Nauru Flag
New Zealand New Zealand Flag
Palau Palau Flag
Papua New Guinea Papua New Guinea Flag
Samoa Samoa Flag
Solomon Islands Solomon Islands Flag
Tonga Tonga Flag
Tuvalu Tuvalu Flag
Vanuatu Vanuatu Flag

New Zealand Time Zones

CET UTC+12:00
CEST UTC+13:00

New Zealand Codes

Internet TLD NZ
Three-letter country code NZL
Three-digit country code 554
Calling code +64