flags of the world

North Macedonia Flag

Click North Macedonia Flag Image to Download

Flag of  North Macedonia

Flag of North Macedonia

The flag of North Macedonia portrays a conventional yellow sun on a red field, with eight expansion rays spreading from the center to the advantage of the field. North Macedonia Flag was created by Miroslav Grčev and was assumed on 5 October 1995.

The initial flag of the nation contained the Vergina Sun which had been exposed at Aigai, the initial capital and interment ground of the ancient kings of Macedon. Greece reflects the Vergina Sun to be a Greek symbol and compulsory a year-long financial embargo in order to force the Republic of Macedonia to eliminate it from flag of North Macedonia.

History of North Macedonia Flag

As an essential republic of Yugoslavia during the collectivist era after 1945, Macedonia had flown a simple red flag with a yellow-bordered red star in the region. Red and black were the outdated colors of Slavic Macedonia, and they were conspicuously featured in a 1903 freedom uprising. Red and gold were also part of its inheritance; a gold lion on a red shield established an early coat of arms. The communist flag hovered on November 17, 1991, when freedom was declared, but on August 11, 1992, the “starburst flag” was substituted. Greeks hailed this as a great national treasure of their country and were therefore intensely opposed to its show on the flag of Macedonia.

North Macedonia Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

In 1991, Todor Petrov, president of the ultra-nationalist group World Macedonian Congress had chosen and proposed the Vergina Sun as the national sign of the then Republic of Macedonia. On 11 August 1992, the newly independent Republic of Macedonia accepted the new flag to substitute the old Communist "red star" insignia. The flag portrayed the "Vergina Sun" symbol, a stylised yellow sun centred on a red field with eight main and eight subordinate rays emanating from the sun, tapered to a point.

About North Macedonia

North Macedonia is located in the Balkan Peninsula in Southeast Europe. It is a landlocked country bordered by Albania to the west, Bulgaria to the east, Serbia to the northeast, Kosovo to the northwest, and Greece to the south. The population of the nation is 2.7 million with population density of 83 per Km2 (214 people per mi2).

North Macedonia has a government of democratic republic, whereby the Prime Minister is the head of government. The official language of North Macedonia is Macedonian and the currency is Dinar. North Macedonia comprises of two letters North Macedonia code i.e. MK and its three letters North Macedonia code is MKD and in digits it is 807 . The calling code is +389 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in North Macedonia is UTC +2 hours.

Being a democratic republic, North Macedonia has divided the country into 190 municipalities.

North Macedonia Country Information

Country North Macedonia
Continent Europe
Official languages Macedonian
Capital Skopje
Currency Republic of Macedonian denar ден (MKD)

North Macedonia Neighboring Countries

Albania Albania Flag
Andorra Andorra Flag
Armenia Armenia Flag
Austria Austria Flag
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan Flag
Belarus Belarus Flag
Belgium Belgium Flag
Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina Flag
Bulgaria Bulgaria Flag
Croatia Croatia Flag
Cyprus Cyprus Flag
Czech Republic Czech Republic Flag
Denmark Denmark Flag
Estonia Estonia Flag
Finland Finland Flag
France France Flag
Georgia Georgia Flag
Germany Germany Flag
Greece Greece Flag
Hungary Hungary Flag
Iceland Iceland Flag
Ireland Ireland Flag
Italy Italy Flag
Kazakhstan Kazakhstan Flag
Kosovo Kosovo Flag
Latvia Latvia Flag
Liechtenstein Liechtenstein Flag
Lithuania Lithuania Flag
Luxembourg Luxembourg Flag
Malta Malta Flag
Moldova Moldova Flag
Monaco Monaco Flag
Montenegro Montenegro Flag
Macedonia (also known as North Macedonia) Macedonia Flag
Netherlands Netherlands Flag
Norway Norway Flag
Poland Poland Flag
Portugal Portugal Flag
Romania Romania Flag
Russia Russia Flag
San Marino San Marino Flag
Serbia Serbia Flag
Slovakia Slovakia Flag
Slovenia Slovenia Flag
Spain Spain Flag
Sweden Sweden Flag
Switzerland Switzerland Flag
Turkey Turkey Flag
Ukraine Ukraine Flag
United Kingdom - UK UK Flag
Vatican City - Holy See Vatican City Flag

North Macedonia Time Zones

CET UTC+01:00
CEST UTC+02:00

North Macedonia Codes

Internet TLD MK
Three-letter country code MKD
Three-digit country code 807
Calling code +389