flags of the world

Luxembourg Flag

Click Luxembourg Flag Image to Download

Flag of Luxembourg

Flag of Luxembourg

Luxembourg Flag contains three plane stripes, red, white and blue. The horizontal stripes are divided into 1:2 or 3:5 ratios. It was initially used between 1845 and 1848. After more than century passed away, then in 1993, the government of Luxembourg (in the missing identity issue) officially adopted the flag of Luxembourg.

Luxembourg had no ensign until 1830, when loyalists were urged to show the national colors. The Flag of Luxembourg was distinct as a horizontal tricolor of red, white, and blue in 1848, however it was not officially approved until 1993. The tricolor flag is almost indistinguishable to Flag of the Netherlands, excluding that it is lengthier and its blue and red band are a lighter shade. The red, white, and blue colors were resultant from the coat of arms of the House of Luxembourg.

History of Luxembourg Flag

The colors of the flag of Luxembourg were first accepted about 1830 in the Belgian Revolution. They were perhaps resulting from the counts, dukes and later grand-dukes of Luxembourg's coat of arms which in go was derivative from the grouping of the dukes of Luxembourg’s Lion and the theoretical striped banner of the initial counts of Luxembourg. The three-colored flat design was fixed on 12 June 1845. The flag was removed in 1993 before a law was passed adaptable the flag of Luxembourg. The same law also set ensign and roundel for aircraft and ships listed in Luxembourg. One significant explanation for the color blue was clear as being a very bright blue, in contrast to the flag of the Netherlands.

Luxembourg Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

The national flag of Luxembourg has a tricolor design with three horizontal stripes of equal size: red (upper), white (middle) and light blue (lower). The flag’s design is approximately identical to that of the Netherlands flag, though the blue and red colors on Luxembourg's flag are brighter in shade. The colors on the flag have been suggested from their origin to the House of Luxembourg’s coat of arms.

About Luxembourg

Luxembourg is a small landlocked country situated in Western Europe. The nation is bordered by Germany to the east, Belgium to the west and north, and France to the south. The land has over 0.6 million inhabitants availing the population density 230 per Km2 (597 people per mi2).

Luxembourg has a democratic monarchy. The official language of Luxembourg is Luxembourgish and French and the currency is Euro. Luxembourg comprises of two letters Luxembourg code i.e. LU and its three letters Luxembourg code is LUX and in digits it is 442. The calling code is +352 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Luxembourg is UTC +2 hours.

Being a democratic monarchy, Luxembourg is divided into three districts and 12 cantons.

Luxembourg Country Information

Country Luxembourg
Continent Europe
Official languages Luxembourgish, German, French
Capital Luxemburg
Currency Euro € (EUR)

Luxembourg Neighboring Countries

Albania Albania Flag
Andorra Andorra Flag
Armenia Armenia Flag
Austria Austria Flag
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan Flag
Belarus Belarus Flag
Belgium Belgium Flag
Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina Flag
Bulgaria Bulgaria Flag
Croatia Croatia Flag
Cyprus Cyprus Flag
Czech Republic Czech Republic Flag
Denmark Denmark Flag
Estonia Estonia Flag
Finland Finland Flag
France France Flag
Georgia Georgia Flag
Germany Germany Flag
Greece Greece Flag
Hungary Hungary Flag
Iceland Iceland Flag
Ireland Ireland Flag
Italy Italy Flag
Kazakhstan Kazakhstan Flag
Kosovo Kosovo Flag
Latvia Latvia Flag
Liechtenstein Liechtenstein Flag
Lithuania Lithuania Flag
Luxembourg Luxembourg Flag
Malta Malta Flag
Moldova Moldova Flag
Monaco Monaco Flag
Montenegro Montenegro Flag
Macedonia (also known as North Macedonia) Macedonia Flag
Netherlands Netherlands Flag
Norway Norway Flag
Poland Poland Flag
Portugal Portugal Flag
Romania Romania Flag
Russia Russia Flag
San Marino San Marino Flag
Serbia Serbia Flag
Slovakia Slovakia Flag
Slovenia Slovenia Flag
Spain Spain Flag
Sweden Sweden Flag
Switzerland Switzerland Flag
Turkey Turkey Flag
Ukraine Ukraine Flag
United Kingdom - UK UK Flag
Vatican City - Holy See Vatican City Flag

Luxembourg Time Zones

CET UTC+01:00
CEST UTC+02:00

Luxembourg Codes

Internet TLD LU
Three-letter country code LUX
Three-digit country code 442
Calling code +352