flags of the world

Ecuador Flag

Click Ecuador Flag Image to Download

flag of Ecuador

Flag of Ecuador

The final design of Ecuador Flag was approved in 1900. The national flag of Ecuador features horizontal stripes of yellow (double width), blue and red. It was first adopted by law in 1835 and later on 26 September 1860. Also, there was the addition of the coat of arms in the center of the flag in the final design. Beforehand using the yellow, blue and red tricolor, Ecuador flag used white and blue flags that comprises of stars for each area of the country.

The project of the flag is very alike to those of Ecuador and Venezuela, which are also previous constituent territories of Gran Colombia. All three are built on a proposal by Venezuelan General Francisco de Miranda, which was accepted by Venezuela in 1811 and later Gran Colombia with some alterations. Flag of Ecuador does not cover the coat of arms that is used by the merchant maritime. This flag competitions Colombia's in every feature, but Colombia uses a diverse design when her merchant marine ships are at sail.

History of Ecuador Flag

In their rebellion against Spanish rule, Ecuadorian loyalists in the city of Guayaquil on October 9, 1820, showed a flag of five equal flat stripes of light blue and white, with three white stars in the midpoint. The colors and bands took their motivation from the Argentine flags approved by José de San Martín and his Army of the Andes. Winning against the Spanish at the Battle of Pichincha on May 24, 1822, General Antonio José de Sucre lifted the flat yellow-blue-red tricolor that Francisco de Miranda had flown in 1806 in Venezuela. These two flag civilizations from other former Spanish colonies prejudiced the flags of Ecuador throughout the 19th century.

Ecuador Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

The Ecuadorian National Secretariat of Communication issued regulations recitation the applications and scopes of the national flag, coat of arms, and other state symbols in November 2009. The national flag has a width of 1.47m, length of 2.20m and a ratio of 2:3. The field is riven into three horizontal colored stripes, a yellow stripe of one-half the flag's width, and a red band of one-quarter the width and a blue stripe of one-quarter the width. All three stripes spread the full length of the flag. The flag is charged with the Ecuadorian coat of arms climbed to one-half the breadth of the flag and fixed in the field.

The yellow color represents crops and the fertile soil, whereas blue color denotes the ocean and the clear skies. The color red depicts the blood shed of heroes during the war of freedom.

About Ecuador

Ecuador is a nation in situated in northwestern South America. The country shares its boundaries with Peru on the east and south, Colombia on the north, and the Pacific Ocean on the west. Ecuador also comprises the Galápagos Islands in the Pacific. It has 1.66 crores inhabitants. The population density of the island is 59 people per square kilometer (153/square mile).

Ecuador has multi-party system with unicameral representative democracy. Here, the central government institution is a four-yearly elected presidential. The official language of Ecuador is Spanish and the currency USD. Ecuador comprises of two letters Ecuador code i.e. EC and its three letters Ecuador code is ECU and in digits it is 218. The calling code is +593 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Ecuador is UTC -5 hours.

Being a unicameral representative democracy, it has 24 independent federal states that are also called as provinces.

Ecuador Country Information Updated 2024

Country Ecuador
Continent South America
Official languages Spanish
Capital Quito
Currency United States dollar $ (USD)

Other South American Countries

Argentina Argentina Flag
Bolivia Bolivia Flag
Brazil Brazil Flag
Chile Chile Flag
Colombia Colombia Flag
Ecuador Ecuador Flag
Guyana Guyana Flag
Paraguay Paraguay Flag
Peru Peru Flag
Suriname Suriname Flag
Uruguay Uruguay Flag
Venezuela Venezuela Flag
Falkland Islands Falkland Islands Flag
French Guiana French Guiana Flag

Ecuador Time Zones

CET UTC-05:00 to UTC-06:00
CEST UTC-05:00 to UTC-06:00

Ecuador Codes

Internet TLD EC
Three-letter country code ECU
Three-digit country code 218
Calling code +593