flags of the world

Cuba Flag

Flag of Cuba

Flag of Cuba - Cuban Flag

The national flag of Cuba comprises of five irregular bands having three blue and two white stripes. There is a red regular triangle at the hoist. Cuba Flag has a white five-pointed star. It was designed in 1849 and formally accepted May 20, 1902.

There are three colors mentioned in the Cuban flag. These colors are red, white and blue. Flag of Cuba has been designed using three blue bands flashing with two white stripes. On the hoist adjacent of the flag is a red equilateral triangle. Fixed inside the triangle is a white five-pointed star.

History of Cuba Flag

In the 19th century in New York City, anti-Spanish Cuban expatriates under the management of Narciso López approved a flag optional by the poet Miguel Teurbe Tolón. His enterprise, which later developed the national flag, merged three blue bands representing the three military regions of Spanish-dominated Cuba and two white bands symbolizing the purity of the loyalist cause. The red triangle stood for forte and constancy, but it may also have reproduced Masonic influences. The white star in the triangle mounted for independence.

After the United States detained Cuba from Spain throughout the Spanish-American War, the Stars and Bands hovered from January 1, 1899, until May 20, 1902, when the Cuban national flag was hoisted as a sign of independence and sovereignty. Since then it is used even after the communist revolution led by Fidel Castro was fruitful in seizing control of the country.

Cuba Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

The flag of Cuba has colors which symbolizes history and ideals of the nation at the time of its commencement. Three of the bands are meant to represent the three departments of Cuba, The other bands were designed to represent purity and light. The triangle on the flag dates back to the French Revolution and signifies equality fraternity and livery. The color red is used to signify courage and bloodshed, while the star characterized Cuba as a new state that should be encompassed in the United States.

About Cuba Republic

Cuba is situated in North American Continent and shares borders with Honduras, Jamaica, The Bahamas, Haiti, Mexico, and the United States. It has 1.15 crores population getting population density of 102 people per square kilometer (264/square mile).

Cuba is a federal presidential republic government. The official language of Cuba is Spanish and the currency is Cuban Peso. Cuba comprises of two letters Cuba code i.e. CU and its three letters Cuba code is CUB and in digits it is 192 . The calling code is +43 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Cuba is UTC -4 hours.

Being a federal republic, Cuba comprises a total of 15 independent states that are also called as provinces. These include: Pinar del Río, Artemisa, La Habana, Mayabeque, Matanzas, Cienfuegos, Villa Clara, Sancti Spíritus, Ciego de Ávila, Camagüey, Las Tunas, Granma, Holguín, Santiago de Cuba, and Guantánamo.

Cuba Country Information

Country Cuba Republic
Continent North America
Official Languages Spanish
Capital Havana
Cuba Flag Colors Blue, White and Red
Currency Cuban convertible peso $ (CUC), Cuban peso $ (CUP)

Other North American Countries

Antigua and Barbuda Antigua and Barbuda Flag
American Samoa American Samoa Flag
Bahamas Bahamas Flag
Barbados Barbados Flag
Belize Belize Flag
Canada Canada Flag
Costa Rica Costa Rica Flag
Cuba Cuba Flag
Dominica Dominica Flag
Dominican Republic Dominican Republic Flag
El Salvador El Salvador Flag
Grenada Grenada Flag
Guatemala Guatemala Flag
Haiti Haiti Flag
Honduras Honduras Flag
Jamaica Jamaica Flag
Mexico Mexico Flag
Nicaragua Nicaragua Flag
Panama Panama Flag
Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Kitts and Nevis Flag
Saint Lucia Saint Lucia Flag
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Flag
Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad and Tobago Flag
United States of America USA Flag

Cuba Time Zones

CET UTC-05:00
CEST UTC-04:00

Cuba Codes

Internet TLD CU
Three-letter country code CUB
Three-digit country code 192
Calling code +53