flags of the world

Croatia Flag

Flag of Croatia

Flag of Croatia

The national flag of Croatia has tricolor design consists of three equal size, flat stripes in colors red, white and blue. In the middle is the coat of arms of Croatia. Croatia Flag is unique and went through several modifications before its final design was approved by the government.

Croatia was underneath Hungarian rule in the mid-19th period, but Croatian separatists attempted to rebel in 1848, at which time they selected a flag to represent their cause. The red-white-blue colors of the flag were enthused by the flag of grand Russia, which was an adversary of Austria-Hungary and henceforth a potential Croatian ally. Though Croatians were powerless to establish their independence at that time, the flag continued a symbol of ambitions for the future.

History of Croatia Flag

The flag syndicates the colors of the flags of the Kingdom of Croatia (red and white), the Kingdom of Slavonia (blue and white) and partly of the Kingdom of Dalmatia (blue and yellow). Those three kingdoms are the important constituent states of the Croatian Kingdom.

In April 1941 the fascist UstaĊĦa took benefit of the Axis invasion of Yugoslavia to announce the Independent State of Croatia. To the old red-white-blue flag it additional the historical shield of Croatia, a checker board of red and white.

The red-white-blue tricolor has been used as the Croatian flag since 1848, and the pan-Slavic colors are widely related with romantic nationalism. While the Banovina of Croatia were within the Kingdom of Yugoslavia, it had a alike flag without the contemporary crown above the chequy. During the Independent State of Croatia, the flag was like the contemporary, but without crown and there was the letter "U" at the upper left of the flag. Additionally, the first field of Croatian cherub was white. While Croatia was share of the SFR Yugoslavia its tricolor was the same, but it had a five-pointed red star with a yellow limit in place of the coat of arms. The star was swapped by the coat in May 1990, shortly after the first cooperative elections.

Croatia Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

The flag of the Republic of Croatia is a nationwide symbol and was formally approved on December 21, 1990. It comprises of three equally-wide flat lines of red, white and blue with the coat of arms of the Republic of Croatia in the middle.

About Croatia

Croatia is a nation situated at the crossroads of Central and Southeast Europe and on the Adriatic Sea. It borders Serbia to the east, Slovenia to the northwest, Hungary to the northeast, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Montenegro to the southeast, sharing a maritime border with Italy. The country has 41.5 lacs inhabitants getting the population density of 73 people per square kilometer.

Croatia is led by the President of the Government, informally abbreviated to premier or prime minister. The official language of Croatia is Croatian and the currency is Croatian Kuna. Croatia comprises of two letters Croatia code i.e. HR and its three letters Croatia code is HRB and in digits it is 191. The calling code is +385 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Croatia is UTC +02 hours.

Being a presidency state, Croatia comprises a total of 20 counties not provinces.

Croatia Country Information

Country Croatia
Continent Europe
Official languages Croatian
Capital Zagreb
Currency Croatian kuna kn (HRK)

Croatia Neighboring Countries

Albania Albania Flag
Andorra Andorra Flag
Armenia Armenia Flag
Austria Austria Flag
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan Flag
Belarus Belarus Flag
Belgium Belgium Flag
Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina Flag
Bulgaria Bulgaria Flag
Croatia Croatia Flag
Cyprus Cyprus Flag
Czech Republic Czech Republic Flag
Denmark Denmark Flag
Estonia Estonia Flag
Finland Finland Flag
France France Flag
Georgia Georgia Flag
Germany Germany Flag
Greece Greece Flag
Hungary Hungary Flag
Iceland Iceland Flag
Ireland Ireland Flag
Italy Italy Flag
Kazakhstan Kazakhstan Flag
Kosovo Kosovo Flag
Latvia Latvia Flag
Liechtenstein Liechtenstein Flag
Lithuania Lithuania Flag
Luxembourg Luxembourg Flag
Malta Malta Flag
Moldova Moldova Flag
Monaco Monaco Flag
Montenegro Montenegro Flag
Macedonia (also known as North Macedonia) Macedonia Flag
Netherlands Netherlands Flag
Norway Norway Flag
Poland Poland Flag
Portugal Portugal Flag
Romania Romania Flag
Russia Russia Flag
San Marino San Marino Flag
Serbia Serbia Flag
Slovakia Slovakia Flag
Slovenia Slovenia Flag
Spain Spain Flag
Sweden Sweden Flag
Switzerland Switzerland Flag
Turkey Turkey Flag
Ukraine Ukraine Flag
United Kingdom - UK UK Flag
Vatican City - Holy See Vatican City Flag

Croatia Time Zones

CET UTC+01:00
CEST UTC+02:00

Croatia Codes

Internet TLD HR
Three-letter country code HRV
Three-digit country code 191
Calling code +385