flags of the world

Australia Flag

Click Australian Flag Image to Download

Flag of Australia

Flag of Australia

The Australian flag is a design of striking stars and crosses. The flag of Australia is treated with dignity and it represents all Australian citizens equally, whatever their background, race, color, religion or age. The flag of australia is a reminder of the offerings of past and present generations of the inheritance that will be passed to future generations. The national Flag of Australia has three crosses, acknowledges the principles and ideals graceful from the British heritage of European settlers involving parliamentary democracy, the rule of law that assure freedom of speech and the rights and responsibilities of citizens. The constellation of the Southern Cross indicates geographical location in the southern hemisphere.

History of Australia Flag

The Australian flag has a large white seven pointed star (the star of federation) under the middle of the Union Jack. Australia's national flag was original designed with a six-pointed Commonwealth Star and was approved in 1901 from entries in a competition held following Federation. On 3 September 1901, the flag was flown for the first time in Melbourne and since then it was announced as Australian National Flag Day. The original design was comparable to the recent flag, excluding the Federation Star contained only 6 points and the Southern Cross depicted stars ranging from 5 to 9 points. This indicated their comparative apparent brightness in the night sky.

In addition, the field was red for Civil, blue ensign reserved and other for Government use. The implementation of the winning flag enterprise was never discussed in the Australian Parliament - it was sent to the Regal Authorities in England to be accepted. It wasn′t until late 1902 that King Edward VII correctly notified the Australian Government of the consent, and this sanction was finally Gazetted on 20 February 1903. In 1911, when the Northern Territory and ACT were shaped as Federal Territories, the number of points on the Federation Star was decreased to seven. The red ensign endured the Civil flag and the blue ensign the Government flag.

Australia Flag Meaning and Design

In Australia's flag, constellation of stars tells to the numerous indigenous legends and precious Aboriginal and Torres Strait heritage. The Commonwealth Star – National Federation is the largest seven piercing star. There are six points signify the states and the seventh federal territories in the the Commonwealth of Australia.

Australia Country Information, Currency, Codes, Time Zone

Australia is located in the continent of Oceania. Australia–Indonesia border is a maritime boundary from west with approximately 2.46 crores inhabitants. The country shares maritime boundary with Indonesia, Timor-Leste, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, New Zealand, New Caledonia, and Vanuatu with the population density of 3.1 people per square kilometre (sq km). It is the largest country in Oceania and sixth-largest country in the world.

Australia is a sovereign country involving the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands. The official language of Australia is English and the currency is Australian Dollar. Australia comprises of two letter Australia code i.e. AU and its three letter Australia code is AUS and in digits it is 61. The calling code is +61 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Australia is UTC/GMT +10 hours. Being a sovereign government, Australia comprises of six states, which are also called as province. These are New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia.

Australia Country Information

Country Commonwealth Of Australia
Continent Oceania / Australia
Official Languages English
Capital Canberra
Currency Australian Dollar

Australia Time Zones

CET UTC +10:00
CEST UTC +02:00

Australia Codes

Internet TLD AU
Three-letter country code AUS
Three-digit country code 036
Calling code +61

Other Oceania Countries

Australia Australia Flag
Fiji Fiji Flag
Kiribati Kiribati Flag
Marshall Islands Marshall Islands Flag
Micronesia Micronesia Flag
Nauru Nauru Flag
New Zealand New Zealand Flag
Palau Palau Flag
Papua New Guinea Papua New Guinea Flag
Samoa Samoa Flag
Solomon Islands Solomon Islands Flag
Tonga Tonga Flag
Tuvalu Tuvalu Flag
Vanuatu Vanuatu Flag