flags of the world

Angola Flag

Click Angola Flag Image to Download

Flag of Algeria

Flag of Angola

The colors in Angola Flag are designed to exemplify the largest continent ‘Africa’, and the blood shed as the country fought for its freedom. The flag features a gear character, which is the representation of nation’s industrial workforces. The machete symbol signifies peasantry, and the star initiate on the flag symbolizes of socialism.

Angolan flag as outlined in the Constitution of Angola, the red half of the flag means bloodshed during Angola's sovereignty struggle, and the black half defines the continent.

History of Angola Flag

The flag is described in article 162 according to the Constitutional Law of the Republic of Angola on August 25, 1992. The machete emblem, gear, and star positioned in the center of the flag in yellow color. The flag is based on the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA), which clashed Portuguese colonial rule in Angolan Civil War.

In 1975, the flag of Angola was adopted with the design embarked on it with the design of Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola. The flag has been fortunate to remain same as its original design till date.

Angola Flag Meaning and Design

Republic flag of Angola has two straight bands of red and black with the Machete and Gear Emblem in gold. The midpoint comprised of a five pointed-star within a half gear wheel traversed by a machete. In the central emblem, the gear depicts industrial workers, the machete portrays peasantry, and the star is shaped star symbolized socialism.

Angola Country Information, Currency, Codes, Time Zone

Nation Angola is located in the southern region of Central Africa. Recognized as the Republic of Angola, the nation lies along the coast of the Atlantic Ocean. It is surrounded with three sides by land and one side by ocean. The country shares borders with Zambia, Namibia, and the Congo. Angola has the total population of 31,289,040 people. The population density value comes to about 65 people per square mile of land.

Since the implementation of a new constitution in 2010, the framework of a presidential republic, whereby the President of Angola is both head of state and head of government, and of a multi-party system. From 2002 to 2010, executive branch of the government was poised of the President, the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers. The legal system was based on Portuguese and customary law, a Supreme Court served as the appellate tribunal; a Constitutional Court with powers of judicial review and statutory authorization.

The official language of Angola is Portuguese and the currency is Angolan kwanza. Angola comprises of two letter Angola code i.e. AO and its three letter Angola code is AGO and in digits it is 024. The calling code is +244 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Angola is UTC/GMT +1 hour.

Angola has a total of 18 independent provinces. These include: Caxito, Benguela, Bié, Cabinda, Cuando, Cubango, Cuanza Norte, Cuanza Sul, Cunene, Huambo, Huíla, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, Namibe, Uíge, and Zaire.

Angola Country Information Updated 2024

Country Angola
Continent Africa
Official languages Portuguese
Capital Luanda
Currency Angolan kwanza Kz (AOA)

Angola Time Zones

CET UTC+01:00
CEST UTC+01:00

Angola Codes

Internet TLD AO
Three-letter country code AGO
Three-digit country code 024
Calling code +244

Other African Countries Countries

Algeria Algeria Flag
Angola Angola Flag
Benin Benin Flag
Botswana Botswana Flag
Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Flag
Burundi Burundi Flag
Cape Verde Cape Verde Flag
Cameroon Cameroon Flag
Central African Republic Central African Republic Flag
Chad Chad Flag
Comoros Comoros Flag
Democratic Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo Flag
Republic of the Congo Republic of the Congo Flag
Cote d'Ivoire Cote d'Ivoire Flag
Djibouti Djibouti Flag
Egypt Egypt Flag
Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea Flag
Eritrea Eritrea Flag
Swaziland - Eswatini Swaziland Flag - Eswatini Flag
Ethiopia Ethiopia Flag
Gabon Gabon Flag
Gambia Gambia Flag
Ghana Ghana Flag
Guinea Guinea Flag
Guinea-Bissau Ghana-Bissau Flag
Kenya Kenya Flag
Lesotho Lesotho Flag
Liberia Liberia Flag
Libya Libya Flag
Madagascar Madagascar Flag
Malawi Malawi Flag
Mali Mali Flag
Mauritania Mauritania Flag
Mauritius Mauritius Flag
Morocco Morocco Flag
Mozambique Mozambique Flag
Namibia Namibia Flag
Niger Niger Flag
Nigeria Nigeria Flag
Rwanda Rwanda Flag
Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome and Principe Flag
Senegal Senegal Flag
Seychelles Seychelles Flag
Sierra Leone Flag
Somalia Somalia Flag
South Africa South Africa Flag
South Sudan South Sudan Flag
Sudan Sudan Flag
Tanzania Tanzania Flag
Togo Togo Flag
Tunisia Tunisia Flag
Uganda Uganda Flag
Zambia Zambia Flag
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe Flag